Just like with other states in the United States, Nevada has a set of laws regarding personal injury lawsuits and insurance settlements. It is important to know about these laws if you have been injured in a car accident, medical malpractice case or from another type of accident and you are planning on filing a lawsuit. It is also a good idea to hire a personal injury attorney because it helps your case. Naqvi Car Injury Law can provide you with vital information and assistance. Some aspects of Nevada’s personal injury laws may affect your case and your attorney is better equipped to get you a positive result and the compensation you deserve.
Time Limits to File a Personal Injury Lawsuit in Nevada
The state of Nevada has an established limit on the amount of time you have to file a personal injury lawsuit with the court. In general, you have up to two years from the date of the accident to file your claim with the appropriate court. This period of time is known as the statute of limitations.
You must pay careful attention when you are planning on filing a personal injury lawsuit after you have suffered injuries following a car accident. You should ensure that you absolutely know the date of the accident so that you don’t accidentally allow too much time to pass before filing with the court because otherwise, your case will not be heard.
Shared Fault Law
Nevada is one of the states that utilizes the shared fault law. That means that the court or a jury can find the plaintiff partially responsible for their injuries. The state has a special rule that is known as a “modified comparative fault rule,” which means that the individual who has been injured is found to share part of the fault for his or her own injury. This rule reduces the total amount of compensation the individual is seeking, but the amount they are found at fault depends on the circumstances of the case.
The following example can explain the shared fault law: A person is driving slightly over the speed limit and has the right of way at an intersection where the other driver is required to stop because there is a stop sign in place. The second driver runs right through the stop sign and slams their vehicle into the first driver’s car. The driver of the first car sustains an injury. However, because that person was traveling slightly over the speed limit, they are found by the jury to be 10 percent at fault for the accident. If that person was seeking $10,000 in compensation, the court would award them $9,000, which is 10 percent less than what they were seeking.
Generally, in Nevada, you can receive a reduced compensation for your injuries and other damages as long as you are found to be under 50 percent at fault for an accident. If fault is shared in any case, the court is required to apply the modified comparative fault rule.
If you have been injured in a car accident in Nevada, get in touch with a personal injury lawyer at your earliest convenience.